Workshop “How to Whiteboard Effectively”

Last night I attended the Codesmith’s “How to Whiteboard Effectively” online workshop, and I was so excited about it that I had to blog about it right away! It was extremely useful.

As the bootcamp is slowly coming to an end (we only have 2 months left!), I find it important to acquire other skills than just coding in Java,

One phrase the presenter said in the beginning really stroke me: “It’s usually done with someone you might potentially be working with. What they are really evaluating – “are you someone I would want to be working time with?”. It’s not something I thought about, but it totally makes sense and it changed my perception of whiteboarding completely.

The point of whiteboarding is not that you find the exact solution, it’s more about:

  • your technical thinking,
  • breaking down a problem,
  • communication,
  • how you approach new problems,
  • your soft skills.

Whiteboarding steps:

  1. understanding the problems (asking additional cases)
  2. inputs and edge cases
  3. pseudo code the solution
  4. write the solution on the board
  5. test the solution
  6. evaluate the solution (communicate the efficency of it).

How to divide the board:

It’s always important to paraphrase the task and ask any additional questions you might think of. I loved the example given:

Even if you’re stuck, you need to communicate with your interviewer, most likely they will give you hints and guide you through it.

The first 3 steps should take about a third of your interview time.

Avoid coding in silence! You should always be engaging with your interviewer.

At the end of the workshop the presenter did a live demo implementing everything he was talking about earlier and it was awesome! Here’s the result of the demo:

I definitely learned a lot and I’m happy I attended!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started